My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Me and the silence

_MG_9826 B

Spent last weekend in my house in Kopparberg. The weather was ok, so I took a trip in the surroundings accompanied by the camera. We had had snow during the night but we didn’t get too much snow so the roads in the forests were ok to drive on. I parked the car on different places and took walks in the surroundings.

_MG_9833 B

I don’t know what it’s called in English, but modern methods of felling trees means that a huge area is completely cleared. The sight is not pleasing to the eye, however they are bound to leave some remains left for certain birds and insects as compensation for the possibilities they rob nature of. These also provide interesting possibilities for photographers like me.

_MG_9839 B

These deserted spots are usually difficult to walk on, but the snow and the cold made it quite easy. Winter has its advantages too, that’s for sure. Just add a dash of drama to the caption and you’re done.

_MG_9843 B

I have always lived in cities and ought to be used to that kind of life, but I enjoy the silence. There was only me, my camera and the silence present and it didn’t bother me the least. A feeling of home or belonging? I don’t know.

_MG_9861 B

It wasn’t quiet at all times though. The sound of flowing water occasionally broke the silence and I find subjects like this irresistable.

_MG_9889 B

Maybe it’s the strange feeling of belonging or being part of something that attracts me. Biologists and geologists have academic explanations to the things we see and experience, but there is something special that cannot be explained, a certain feeling of taking part in something partly beyond our understanding. Could this be the explanation why I enjoy it so much?

 

2 responses

  1. tms

    A moody series I very much like, Staffan.

    21/02/2016 at 09:27

  2. Thank you very much, Tobias. I’m glad you liked it.

    23/02/2016 at 23:10

Leave a Reply

