My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Six days, three different styles and expressions

_MG_6773 B

The last days in October gave me an opportunity to do three different sessions in three very different styles. The first session I did was with the Alternative/Gothic model Xilmordas. I had never done anything like this before, so it was all new to me and very exciting. I had a vague idea of what I wanted to try and also to make the pictures look a bit different to what many others do in this field.

_MG_6789 B

I didn’t want to make him look like some kind of cartoon with loads of make up and a scary face. Instead, I thought that this look is something he has chosen and I must respect that decision by doing my best to show the style and follow some of the foundations of portraiture. Looking at the result, it is very clear to me that there is much to be discovered within that style and getting out of the comfort zone and try new things out is good for my photographic development.

_MG_7087_1 B

Time for a night shift! I have seen many night shots and liked them and now I wanted to find out if I could do it and get my touch. Raphael agreed to meet me down town late in the evening and we strolled around for about two hours. It was a rather cold night, but we thought it was worth it.

_MG_7262 B

I had done some tests a couple of weeks before the actual shooting (without model) and found that it could work and after that I felt we could actually get a couple of pictures worth looking at.

_MG_7383 B

Home and get a couple of hours sleep before it was time for the next session, this time with Viktor, who happened to be at home, as model. We wanted to try some “moody” pictures, but also took the opportunity to talk about many things between the shots.

_MG_7373 B

We took a walk through the city to the Central Station afterwards. Last time we worked together was about seven months ago, so we had a lot to talk about. Three different sessions, three different styles and loads of photos to post process. I guess it’s good for the development.

Leave a Reply

