My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

On vacation

Blogg _MG_4651_2_3_4_tonemapped

I am currently on a couple of weeks’ annual leave and spend my time in my holiday home. There are obviously a number of energy thieves around me, because never before have the last weeks before the annual leave felt so long. My tradition is that I stay in Stockholm for a couple of days and clean up the apartment before I go and this year was no exception, but my God what an awful lot a junk I had collected here, there and everywhere. Well at least it looks decent now.

My lust for experimenting woke up the other day. I have used both infrared filter and the HDR technique on these images. They may not be to everybodys taste, but one cannot like just about everything, or…

One has to learn the foundations of photography of course, but as soon as one has got hold of them, a wide and interesting field of experimenting lies ahead. Some experiments turn out well while others may not end up with the result I had expected or wanted. Lesson learned in both cases and that’s the main thing.

Blogg _MG_4656_7_8_9_tonemapped

Next week I will go to the north of Sweden. I haven’t been there for ages; last (and second) time was in 1980. The weather has been miserable this summer and I don’t expect any miracles, but one can always hope for acceptable weather conditions. My family comes from the north of Sweden, so I will explore places with at least some history related to my ancesters. This time I will kind of have a look around, but my intention is to go back now and then with the camera.

The Swedish photographer Sune Jonsson documented a way of life up north that was about to change in the 50’s and 60’s. He realised that he was there in the very last minute and has left us with a treasure of the day to day life back then. Times are always changing so I wonder what I will find.

I have also been thinking of future photo sessions and I have also got this idea that I would like to exhibit and, hopefully, also sell a photo or two. To tell you the truth, I haven’t the slightest idea of how one does that and get started, but I hope I will find out one day.

 

4 responses

  1. Beautiful moody scenes, Staffan. Love them. If you would like to hear my experiences on exhibiting, send an email to me.

    30/07/2015 at 02:28

  2. tms

    Wow, it’s been a while … I really love these new pictures!

    30/07/2015 at 15:57

  3. Lynn: Thanks a million. I have sent you an email.

    30/07/2015 at 21:51

  4. Thank you so much. It was great to write a blog post again.

    30/07/2015 at 21:52

Leave a Reply

