My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Lighthouses

Last week I took a trip in the archipelago with SS STORSKÄR. We had nice weather for a change so I took the opportunity to take some pictures while out and about. Lighthouses are not among my common subjects, so I took the opportunity to capture a couple of them. These may not belong to the impressive ones, but better a tiny lighthouse than no lighthouse  at all.

I have been told that modern navigation equipment has made the lighthouses lose their function; modern ships find their safe route without their guidance, but I would still like to think the small boats many use in their sparetime still find them useful. Besides, the thought of dark waters without any flashing light with different characters is boring.

Another experience made on that trip was that taking pictures from a boat at sea is something one has to get used to because of the sea and the fact that the boat is moving. The composition may have looked ok in the viewfinder a second before I snapped the trigger, but the sea changed that slightly so cropping and/or straightening up has been a must during postprocessing.

 

3 responses

  1. imac

    Well my friend Staffan, lovely pics here, funny though, because we past these lighthouses and Kabel , we were on a cruise ship called Arcadia visiting Stockholm really love these small islands as the ship weaves around a path, also loved Stockholm and we saw the bands playing and Marching. I shall be posting later.

    02/08/2012 at 23:48

  2. imac

    This was in the last 2 weeks – I forgot to say.

    02/08/2012 at 23:49

  3. imac

    Hello my friend, my Stockholm post is now up.

    07/08/2012 at 10:58

Leave a Reply

