My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Time flies!

You have probably heard that one before, haven’t you? Nevertheless, it is true. I had the Easter holiday off and vacation this week and it was over before I knew it, despite the fact that the weather has been bad. One day of nice weather was all I got but at least I managed to do the most necessary things in the garden. I had also planned to make some trips in the vicinity and find some great places to take photos from but that will have to wait. There are loads of great places around the corner but they will have to wait for me and my camera.

Today’s activities has been doing the laundry – I don’t want to bring it back dirty – and vacuum cleaning the house. I did the cellar too while I was at it. I vacuum clean the cellar only now and then and a look around told me it was about time now. When cleaning the cellar I could just as well open the door to the garage and give the car’s compartment and overhaul too. The car is usually full of sand and dirt after a winter and this year was no exception. Later on, I also wiped its interior off with a damp cloth and cleaned the rubber mats – in other words: I got a tidy car for a change.

There was something very familiar about these pictures, but I couldn’t understand why or how. I was postprocessing them straight from the camera! Ok, I had tried something similar before but these were special for reasons unknown to me. Today I got the answer while cleaning: My grandmother had some paintings from the surroundings here. Those paintings didn’t exactly look like my photos, but the colours, the light and the mood were very similar and that was also why I suddenly knew when it was time to stop working with them. Strange lesson learned, but memories from my childhood days can still pop up in my mind and tell me what to do or not to do with an image.

 

4 responses

  1. they turned out very nicely. i especially like the b&w. i think its kind of cool your memories dictate your postprocessing. 😉

    ‘time flies’ could be an old saying, could be a sci-fi title.
    k☼

    14/04/2012 at 00:29

  2. imac

    Glad you enjoyed and been busy man.
    You have certainly captured beauty.

    14/04/2012 at 22:47

  3. Time certainly does fly and seems to flying faster in 2012. These are lovely and I really like the reflective wavery, watercolor look.

    18/04/2012 at 21:48

  4. Staffan H

    All: Thank you so much for your comments.

    04/05/2012 at 23:02

Leave a Reply

