My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A bit worn but…

Today I took a short trip to Saltsjöbaden hoping to find some traces of ice. Probably needless to say that I’m no big fan of ice, but melting ice can have a delicate texture and interesting shapes. I was lucky to find some and took a couple of shots.

I am obviously a bit worn myself. Problems with an eye annoyed me so I went to see the doctor who confirmed that there was a problem caused by stress. The doctor told me to avoid stress, that would cure it in a couple of weeks time. Luckily, I can’t see that there is any negative stress in my life, but what is one supposed to do in a society where stress is a normal way of life? Work part time? That would be anything but politically correct.

Anyhow, I find taking pictures a great way to relax so that’s what I will keep doing.

 

5 responses

  1. I find taking pictures relaxing too, along with hiking. The two go well together.

    18/03/2012 at 23:25

  2. great pic been thinking of taking up photography myself.What camera and accessories should a beginner buy?

    19/03/2012 at 00:08

  3. Staffan H

    Montucky: I’m sure they do.

    23/03/2012 at 23:05

  4. Staffan H

    Roshall: Thank you, I’m glad you like it. I do hope you take up photography. It’s fun, a mystery and a riddle and there so many interesting subjects out there just waiting for you to discover and explore them.

    Your question is a bit tricky to answer. Today the market is full of different brands and “Mr/Ms-know-it-all” seem to have a huge family. 😉 My advice is that you look for cameras that suit your wallet, see if you can find some tests on the Internet giving a you a hint of what they are like. After that you are prepared to make the final decision by going to the dealer, hold them in your hand and see if they are easy for you to understand and work with. The camera that feels right is the one you should buy! If terms like focal length, depth of field, aperture etc bother you, I’m sure there are a number of short courses available where you live who can shed some light over the foundations of photography.

    Regarding accessories… There are a number of different accessories regarded as a must but please don’t listen to these people. What you need to know now is:

    A good lens is always worth the money. Whether you prefer a zoom or not is entirely up to you. Some brands sell camera kits with body and two zoom lenses along with it. Some kit lenses are (regarded as) crap while others are good. Anyhow, I think you can start exploring the art of photography with such kit lenses and buy better later on. I recommend you buy UV filter or just a transparent filter when you buy the camera. They cost very little but can save a lot of money. You can afford the cost of a new filter if scratched; buying a new lens can cost you a lot of money.

    Finally: The key to success is not to drag around tons of equipment. It’s all about finding out, little by little, what you really need, get to know your gear and know what you can do with it.

    23/03/2012 at 23:35

  5. Thanks very much for the info i will be going out this weekend to look at some cameras Thanks for the inspiration.

    27/03/2012 at 18:48

Leave a Reply

