My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The winter is finally here

The winter finally came with lots of snow and cold weather, but during my last stay in Kopparberg I got one day with nice daylight and the temperature a couple of degrees below the freezing point. Wrapped up in clothes suitable for a long winter walk I probably looked like a darker version of “the Michelin man”, you know that little man that has become some sort of trade mark for Michelin tyres.

Anyhow, the winter weather stopped bothering me after a while and I enjoyed my walkabout with the camera, listening to the silence we never hear in the cities. I walked for nearly three hours and came home with loads of images and – believe it or not – new energy.

Something tells me that this subject would not work had it been summer and green vegetation. The snow and the greyscale created something different. On the other hand, in the long run it’s all about taking good care of the beauty nature provides.

Some subjects are tricky or, rather, their location. There is flowing water under the ice and snow and the surroundings are far from flat. Luckily I found a tree I could use as support – otherwise I would probably have rolled downhill with the camera and ended up getting a winterbath.

 

2 responses

  1. imac

    Certainly some snow there my friend.

    13/02/2012 at 23:54

  2. Staffan H

    imac: Indeed, but now it has begun melting slowly. The streets have turned to ice so one has to be careful these days.

    20/02/2012 at 23:06

Leave a Reply

