My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

After four weeks of silence

The group Raymond & Maria during a gig in Stockholm in December

This blog has been a quiet place for a month now and to tell the truth I didn’t touch the camera before last Sunday which is very unusual to be me. The darkness and the rain has not inspired me, but I have not been idle. Instead I found an opportunity to think things over and, as a consequence, I have decided to take a course in February and learn a thing or two about how to sell images to stock photography agencies. This may some slight changes in production, but it may just as well mean I decide to forget about it. Hopefully, I may learn a thing or two about how to sell images. What I finally decide is another matter, but one can’t make the right decision without the knowledge needed.

I did explore other sides of photography during 2011 and will continue that process. One thought popped up in my head and that was the idea of earning some money on my hobby. No, I have no plans to become a photographer (it is probably too late for such drastic changes in my case) but I find the possibility to earn a little money on my hobby interesting – at least as a contribution to “investments” such as new equipment.

Closeup of the singers

Last year I tried my luck and photographed a couple of bands. The first attempts were – how shall I put it – frustrating because of the lack of light and I could not move about as I pleased to get good shots so I came home with pictures of the occasion but that was about it. On the other hand, I never went too far. The band appeared on a minimal stage and suddenly I spotted a photographer on stage taking pictures during the gig. Maybe I haven’t got the right edge yet, but I doubt I would do something like that. In my opinion, performing artists should not be disturbed during a performance. Otherwise they can’t do their best and the audience will be disappointed. Would a press photographer covering a photball game rush out on the pitch just to get some good shots from a different angle? Probably or, rather, certainly not – simply because that’s not where photographers are supposed to be unless they like the idea of being chased and haunted by furious players and the team’s vicious fans.

Taking pictures of Raymond & Maria was different and I got some shots I really liked. Generally speaking, I seldom like or find my images special but I must say that I definitely like the photo above despite that fact that it is far from perfect technically speaking. There is something else in it, an expression or emotion that makes it special – at least to me.

Anyway, no matter what paths I try I will never give up my free photography, you know when I try new things out and play with the possibilities the subject and the capture offers, so I will keep posting pictures in the blog. Wish you all the best for 2012.

 

 

 

5 responses

  1. technique is certainly important. but nothing can replace that special something … with or without perfection
    i like that shot too. good luck with what ever you decide.
    k*

    18/01/2012 at 04:42

  2. imac

    Love these shots my friend.
    Hope you are feeling more camera twittches again, lol.
    I sell my Photos at fetes.

    18/01/2012 at 19:10

  3. Staffan H

    imac: Thank you so much. I am indeed! šŸ™‚

    silverylizard: You are so right. Thank you! šŸ˜‰

    24/01/2012 at 22:07

  4. I love your photo of Maria. I can’t help to want to hear her voice just by looking at your photo. So, I’m listening to her as I’m writing this post for I found her on YouTube. Your photo has a fellow from Kansas looking at her video. I imagine free advertising such as your photo should open the doors for photo shoots of this nature. “Ahh, her beautiful voice just ended”. I made a post on her YouTube of how I found her by viewing your photo of her. Had to hear the voice. Great job Staffan…

    19/02/2012 at 18:33

  5. Staffan H

    Preston: Thank you so much for your comment. It made me very happy to learn that you liked the photo so much that you took the time to look them up and listen to them on YouTube.

    20/02/2012 at 23:16

Leave a Reply

