My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The autumn in a series of pictures

As I have mentioned before this autumn has been a long and mild one and I have really enjoyed every day of it. Today is the first day with really bad weather; we get rain and snow at the same time and I’ve spent most of the day indoors apart from a quick walk to and from the grocery store. I have done nothing, processed some photos and fiddled around. Taking the day as it comes can also be pleasant.

I had a lucky day in November when out and about with the camera. Subjecs appeared everywhere and I didn’t mind. I spent hours walking and enjoyed life as a photographer.

No, it’s not one of Christo’s works – it’s the Årsta Bridge (a railway bridge) currently undergoing renovation. I like shooting in the dark. What I often forget is the tripod. My new camera can shoot at ISO we could only dream of a couple of years ago. Many make an awful lot of fuzz about noise in an image but I don’t mind. In my opinion, it can sometimes add something to a photo just like many thought grain did in the conventional film era.

I should have stopped playing with the camera by now but I will probably never grow that old. Trying new things out is still fun, though the result isn’t always what I had hoped for. Generally speaking, I never delete images on site because even if I have reason to believe that it’s a bad shot it may show something else, something unexpected so I wait until I get home and can get a better view of today’s captures.

 

6 responses

  1. very nice set of images. i really like the railway bridge and the park.

    in the water, i could see so many faces in the surface patterns. quite a treat!
    k*

    18/12/2011 at 02:45

  2. imac

    What wonderful captures my friend.

    18/12/2011 at 21:38

  3. Lovely images! I really like the last photo with the lights in the trees. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

    24/12/2011 at 21:38

  4. Staffan, I hope Santa was good to you and that you are still enjoying an unusually warm autumn/winter/end of the year.

    28/12/2011 at 03:38

  5. sambissell

    Just thought I stop by and check in you, Staffan. It has been way too long since we chatted about one thing or another. I love your work here, as always, and simply fall into your photos with such glee! I’ve been having continuing health problems for several months and am now waiting for decisions on rotator cuff surgery on my right shoulder……..a reason for not being on here posting photos, let alone take any. I manage to take some with my phone but they certainly don’t suffice as a replacement for the “real thing”.

    Keep up the great work…….and I’ll let you know if I get anything uploaded to my site for your perusal.
    I hope you are well and the country home has resolved all of its issues and you are living life to the fullest!
    All my best-
    Sam

    05/01/2012 at 08:57

  6. Staffan H

    All: Sincere thanks for stopping by and for your comments and holiday wishes. 🙂

    17/01/2012 at 21:29

Leave a Reply

