My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

New version of an old image

I should have continued my studies of Camera RAW and PhotoShop but I wanted to repeat what I have learned sofar on my own before digging deeper into the secrets. I now know the most common shortcuts and can use most of the tools and sort of plan my work with this knowledge as foundation. Anyhow, to stop and repeat now and then is the mother of all knowledge – that’s what we use to say when giving classes at my job – and I know it’s true, so I have worked on repeating the basic functions for a couple of days now and my understanding of the workflow.

Today I felt that maybe, but just maybe, it was time to try something more advanced than the ordinary postprocessing of files after a walk about or a session. I did a version of this earlier in July in GIMP and something told me I could probably reach further and still save time provided I thought the whole thing through. Believe it or not, but it worked according to plan and I am more content with this image than the previous version. Now I feel ready to learn more.

 

4 responses

  1. imac

    Ah, I like this one, very close to my Negative shots, great work my friend.

    01/08/2011 at 00:49

  2. Staffan H

    imac: Thanks a million. 🙂

    01/08/2011 at 01:11

  3. I really, really like this! The bold, sharp lines and contrast of light and dark truly appeals to me. Great shot and in black & white!

    02/08/2011 at 15:05

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: I’m glad you like it. Thank you. 🙂

    04/08/2011 at 11:09

Leave a Reply

