My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Flying the white flag

Today I finally surrendered and ordered a copy of Photoshop. Until yesterday, I have always been of the opinion that Photoshop was software I could do without, to do the basic postprocessing of the RAW-files before converting them to .jpg-format with the software I got with the camera was fine and give the images the final touch in GIMP was ok. To make it short: it was only too obvious that with the number of images to postprocess after a photo session I had come to a crossroad.

The choice was between follow the familiar road I had walked for years or turn and follow a new road instead. The new road offered a number of discoveries, development and probably also the use of foul language from time to time. Since the majority of digital photographers have already taken that road, why should I be different? Besides, the latest edition of Photoshop is stuffed with possibilities so why keep struggling?

It was an expensive decision but I still think I made the right choice, even if I’m no big fan of digital post processing. Yes, I know others love it, but I don’t. Another good thing is that I won’t care about the weather for the next weeks, because I will be busy learning as much as possible about Photoshop. The parcel will hopefully be delivered on Thursday and I feel excited. Soon I can say goodbye to the old routine and hello to something new.

3 responses

  1. It will be interesting to see what you think of it!

    06/07/2011 at 02:30

  2. Nice one my friend, I dont like major change, but sometimes you get what you dont expect and turns out great.Artist -Photographer goes well together.

    06/07/2011 at 18:58

  3. Staffan H

    Montucky: I agree with you!

    imac: You are right! Please wish me luck.

    07/07/2011 at 01:08

Leave a Reply

