My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Chasing shadows

I’m back doing shift work over the summer and I won’t moan because it often gives me more time for my photography. We are currently having a heat wave here and what’s the thing to do under such circumstances? Find some shadow, of course. I did it my way, of course, which means that I looked for shadows with interesting and inspiring shapes and it all ended up with this series of images.

This may sound a little weird, but after the long and cold winter, I really enjoy the heat and the sun. The convenient in between seems to be an uthopia.

People probably thought I had taken leave of my senses when they spotted me taking pictures of the ground but it doesn’t bother me any more. Maybe they are right after all…

Oooops, I captured a reflection too.

Quite interesting shapes and irresistable for a photographer like me.

The images in this series were taken in the afternoon; at this time of the year I often prefer the evening light on sunny days because it is softer and rich on hues. Anyhow, I got what I wanted here.

And this is the last image in this series. I managed to discipline myself and followed the same theme all day long. Not bad and I take it as an indication that I am still capable of developing myself.

3 responses

  1. Real nice collection of shadows

    12/06/2011 at 10:10

  2. Sorry about my absence Staffan. These shadow shots are great and I know what you mean about people looking at you strangely when they see nothing of interest worthy enough to be photographed.

    16/06/2011 at 18:36

  3. Staffan H

    Lynn: No problem; I can’t say that I’ve been very present myself in the blogosphere recently. I’m glad you like the shots.

    25/06/2011 at 22:12

Leave a Reply

