My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Construction material

They are currently renovating the underground where I live and this means that the station and its surrounds looks like had it been hit by a bomb. I may object from an aestethical point of view when passing by but it also gives me plenty of opportunities to find new subjects. Yesterday afternoon I felt it was time to try my luck out and take a couple of shots through the fence.

Probably an exaggeration but it looked like a million things were stored outside the station and many of them were out of reach, but it didn’t bother me. “Capture what you can” was enough.

Subjects like this offers many possibilities and why not take the time to snap off a couple of shots before they are sent to recycling or destruction? They are worth the time and trouble.

The construction workers probably don’t have the time to enjoy the different shapes and the hidden beauty in the material they work with, but now I have taken care of that for them to enjoy. Everybody is happy now, right…?

4 responses

  1. tms

    Nice shapes. I like the ‘abstract’ look and feel of these pictures, especially the tarpaulins. Tobias

    19/04/2011 at 18:28

  2. Staffan H

    Tobias: Thank you. Scrap and junk are very interesting subjects to explore.

    19/04/2011 at 22:51

  3. I agree with Tobias. I also wonder if others view such things as interesting art forms or just junk. Nice series, Staffan.

    28/04/2011 at 18:22

  4. Staffan H

    Lynn: There are a couple who explore and think of junk as art, but I strongly suspect they aren’t many. Thank you.

    02/05/2011 at 22:23

Leave a Reply

