My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Two spooky images for the weekend

I took these shots as possible images for “The morbid, the macabre, the dark within you” but I never considered using them, because they are too obvious and too “sweet”. Still, I think they are good enough to post here and, on second thought, something tells me I have posted worse here even though I prefer to suppress it.

Another reason for not using them was that there was still plenty of snow around the house which had the effect that many of the shots got a distracting white line at the bottom. The snow was, however, useful. Thanks to the crust, the snow surface was hard enough to carry my weight – until a few steps remained. Most of the pictures was therefore taken by Staffan the photograper standing in snow almost up to his knees. Not very convenient, but when looking at the pictures now, I think it was worth it.

 

5 responses

  1. tms

    Same as your story about the haunted coal mine, these come over really well. Black and white was a good choice here, I think. Tobias

    09/04/2011 at 09:08

  2. ya i have done the knee deep snow too. it was fun really …
    i think you captured the ‘ew whats lurking in the dark?’ feeling really well! makes me want to look in, and probably see myself standing there … 😉
    and what distracting white line? maybe im too unconventional to notice it?
    k☼

    09/04/2011 at 16:36

  3. Staffan H

    tms: Thanks a lot. You are right about the conversion to black and white – they were not as expressive in colour, at least not in my opinion.

    silverylizard: I find old and abandoned buildings very exciting and they really tell stories. The distracting white line… ummm I did a little cropping to get rid of it – that’s why it’s invisible. 😉

    09/04/2011 at 23:06

  4. I like both photos because the fire the imagination as some is left out. Stark in the black and white. I especially like the 2nd photo with a window within the window.

    10/04/2011 at 19:08

  5. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you so much! I tried something new for a change. I think “The window within the window” was a necessity; it would only be a flat and “dead” image without it.

    16/04/2011 at 22:14

Leave a Reply

