My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

More icy art – just for the fun of it

I’m posting this one as a solitaire – just for the fun of it. To tell you the truth, I really enjoyed doing these pictures even if I said things not suitable for printing when I discovered I had not paid attention enough to what I was doing and therefore had done something less smart. The mistakes were quite easy to correct, but it took extra time… but is it really worth moaning about? I think we are spoiled by all the possibilities today’s technique offers. The great Swedish photographer Hans Malmberg (1927-1977) once took a photo of a Dalmatian in snow. Nobody knows how many photographic papers he used before he finally got a print he could approve. I have seen the photo in a book – it has a very subtle grayscale.

Tomorrow Tuesday will be an interesting day. I will attend a photo course and – hopefully – manage to develop my photographic eye further.

 

4 responses

  1. This looks like liquid silver and gold. I really like this one as it is beautiful! I go for ‘stuff’ like this. 🙂 I wonder, how did you do this?

    10/03/2011 at 19:04

  2. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you so much. I used my macro lens to get a real close-up of the ice. When postprocessing it, I adjusted the white balance, light and contrast (rather high) to my liking, then created a new layer by duplicating it and added a layer mask, then I colored the background layer and adjusted the hue until I was happy with it. Finally, I worked with the eraser tool on the duplicate layer with the mask; that’s how I got the two colored result. 😉

    10/03/2011 at 21:10

  3. Wow Staffan, this and the ice photos are amazing. You achieved what I was not able to quite do. Maybe I’ll add a little color to my ice some day. Thank you for the inspiration.

    13/03/2011 at 18:55

  4. Staffan H

    Lynn: Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad I could inspire you.

    15/03/2011 at 23:29

Leave a Reply

