My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Icy art

Back in the blogosphere again after a period of heavy workload. I have been doing classes for a couple of weeks. I like my work, but it takes a lot of energy too. Anyhow, ice is not among the things I like, because I associate it with winter and cold. Still, I must admit that ice has many interesting shapes and looks and the possibilities are endless. At this time of the year the temperature can go above the freezing point during daytime and ice melting in the sun offers interesting captures so I grabbed the camera bag and took a walk on Saturday afternoon.

The winter’s absence of colours also gave me the idea to add some to the ice. Of course I couldn’t resist the temptation and began playing with a couple of images to see whether it worked or not. Some of my friends talk about “Staffan images” and it used to put a smile on my face. I now think it’s also a little truth in it, so I have decided to do “Staffan images” whenever it suits me just for the fun of it.

I lived in Gothenburg when I was a teenager and it was very important “to fit in at all times” in that city. Now I understand why I never felt home there – it’s not just me (no, I’m not one of society’s “misfits”). I always interested in exploring things and try new things out. Ok, many of the ideas weren’t good or way too advanced for an unexperienced teenager and digital photography had not been heard of. Today I can do them and thanks to experience gained during the years I can also make many of my ideas work one way or another.

Beginning with photography during the conventional film era was a good start and I still use many of the tricks from that period. Why? Because they save time and editing. Correcting things before I snap the trigger is much easier than doing it when I’m post processing the shots. This means I also tend to accept certain things as they are. On the other hand, I do wish we had had Internet when I was young. So much information and so easy to access. I would probably have posted photos had I had the possibility back then and the feedback would have been important for my development as a photograper. Still, I feel very happy and content with my hobby and it still gives me the same feeling of happiness everytime I take a picture and that’s all that matters, isn’t it?

4 responses

  1. i like your ‘staffan images’ here. i like the blue one best, i think. looks like a piece of jewelry.
    kโ˜ผ

    07/03/2011 at 01:17

  2. You are correct, that is all that matters. I certainly enjoy Staffan Images. These reminded me of diamonds. For some reason I really enjoy seeing things which sparkle.

    07/03/2011 at 11:53

  3. Good gracious, these are lovely and a delight to look at! Yeah for Staffan Images… you go for it just for the fun of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    07/03/2011 at 20:09

  4. Staffan H

    Silverylizard: I agree with you, the blue one is special. Thank you.

    Preston: Ok, time to reveal one of my secrets to you. I also enjoy sparkling things. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Anna: Thank you and I will, I promise! ๐Ÿ˜€

    07/03/2011 at 23:10

Leave a Reply

