My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

What I saw today

Today’s theme was “Unusual things and/or colours”. I know the theme is too wide to become useful, but I don’t care – I’m still under the influence of Staffan aged 5 and want to things my way or not at all.

Perfect focus is not always necessary. A bit out of focus can give a soft touch to a photo or get the imagination going. I have recently been to a number of exhibitions at Fotografiska here in Stockholm and noticed that many great photographers use that trick purposely. “If they can do it, I can do it too” was the slightly confused thought I got into my head. At least it is a very useful cover up whenever I make a mistake.

Trees are one of my old favourite subjects. Stockholm is an odd city because it is a very “green” one compared to other cities of the same size. The city isn’t particularly big in comparison with other capitals around the world, only around 2,000,000 inhabitants, but I don’t mind. On second thought – yes, I do mind! It is crowded.

Water seems to be important to me. I have always lived in cities with water (Stockholm, Gothenburg and Dublin) and its changes offers new possibilities.

Ice is another interesting subject that offers many possibilities and is usually photographed when shiny and in perfect condition. Melting ice in spring is often dirty and doesn’t live up to the myth, but I think it sometimes offers something interesting and intriguing. All one needs is the eye to discover it and that is easier said than done.

 

5 responses

  1. I am particularly drawn to the top photo… beautifully textured fabrics are an extreme weakness of mine. I won’t say how many bags I have. 🙂 I’m curious to know what the fabric photograph actually is.

    06/02/2011 at 04:26

  2. Those are interesting subjects to be found in a city of that size. I like the colors in the second one and am love the character that can be seen in the knots and burls of the old tree. That’s something I would also have noticed. I couldn’t exist in a city of that size though. Here, if I ever meet another person on the trails it upsets my whole day.

    06/02/2011 at 05:10

  3. Most fasinating and clolourful my friend.

    06/02/2011 at 15:02

  4. A wonderful series of photographs / artful and interesting.

    06/02/2011 at 18:25

  5. Staffan H

    kcjewel: Ok, I won’t ask then. 🙂 I will post a photo revealing the fabric’s secret.

    Montucky: There was a time when trees’ knots and burls were one of my favourite subjects but I still feel the need to take a photo whenever I see something special. I’m glad I have a house in a little village I can “escape” to and live a different life than the one I live in Stockholm.

    imac: Thank you so much.

    Lynn: Sincere thanks.

    06/02/2011 at 20:13

Leave a Reply

