My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Quick changes

I went to my house on Saturday and it was definitely below the freezing point when I came up there and it began snowing in the evening. We got warmer weather during the night and the temperature was suddenly above the freezing point and it was dripping from melting snow all around me when I opened the front door. Yesterday’s snow was unfortunately still on the ground so I grabbed the shovel.

Cold, dry snow is easy to deal with – cold, wet snow is not. It is wet and heavy and sticks to the shovel unless you have applied a thin layer of oil first. I had about an hour’s work before the entire driveway and the entrance to the house were cleared. Afterwards I had a cup of coffee and looked out through the kitchen window while drinking it. This is today’s view. For some reason, I like days when the sky is as grey as lead and the clouds are just above the treetops – provided I can stay indoors and look through the window.

I took the longer road home. The difference is about 30 kilometres and I drove the shortest road to Kopparberg, but it was lots of ice on it which is ok as long as it’s cold. Driving on wet ice can be the same as go skating with the car and I found these prospects less appealing to me. My winter tyres are new, but why should I try my luck more than necessary?

 

2 responses

  1. Beautiful shot and I like it in the portrait style. Indeed, I have skated on the ice with a car, and a sports car (Z28 Camaro) at that. Preston, too, with the same car, and he slid backwards into a ditch. Not fun, not fun at all!

    17/01/2011 at 22:57

  2. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you! 🙂 Skidding and sliding with the car is just anything but fun and sports cars with their powerful engines can be difficult to control under such circumstances. Sliding backwards is anything but fun…

    17/01/2011 at 23:59

Leave a Reply

