My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Thoughts on a Tuesday off

I finally got two days off in a row but not going to work does not mean that I spend my time lazing around. I have washed the dishes, done the laundry and the ironing and I have also been to the post office and the grocery store. Not much time left of this day when I write these lines but that is the way life is.

The early winter seems to last. They cleared the street from snow today and did a good job. Last winter was different. The street is supposed to get cleaned once a week from November until May but cleaning brigade showed up when it suited them and the street looked like some kind of moon landscape. We who happen to live here could unfortunately not offer an elegant moon walk like the one Michael Jackson did; instead we looked more like penguins. Well, walking the streets is for the time being not a problem and I hope it will stay that way.

Tomorrow will hopefully be another day with nice winter weather and I have decided to take a walk about with the camera and get some shots of the snowy city. Before or after that, I have not decided yet, some cleaning of my home is a must so I can go to work on Thursday and close the door to my clean and shiny home behind me.

 

4 responses

  1. That is a fabulous photo of the frozen fall. Rugged and cold! Brr…

    01/12/2010 at 15:58

  2. Don’t they clean the streets every time it snows? Great photo today Staffan.

    02/12/2010 at 02:54

  3. Ahhh, to have two days off in a row… I don’t mind the snow, but the ice, that’s something else. Is your post office ran by the government or is it privatized?

    02/12/2010 at 21:06

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you and yes, it was!

    Lynn: Only the main roads and main streets. The house owner cleans from the sidewalk to the house (and they are quick about it) and the city will occasionally clean the sidewalks but the street where I live is usually cleaned once a week which means that it often looks like a moon landscape during the winter.

    Preston: Best of all: they didn’t call and ask if I could do overtime and take a shift on my day off.

    The post offices were privatized a couple of years ago, so my post office is now to be found in a convenience store.

    05/12/2010 at 13:15

Leave a Reply

