My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Katarinaberget the way I see it

Today I went to Fotografiska, a huge exhibition hall for photography housed in an old customs warehouse/office, again but this time together with a friend of mine and his youngest son. The baby slept like… a baby… and woke up when his father and I felt that we needed a cup of coffee after having looked at and liked many photos. Of course not all photos met with our approval, but that’s the way things are. πŸ˜‰ In between we discussed photography intensely and today’s visit took a couple of hours.

 

On my way to Fotografiska I always walk along Katarinaberget (short Swedish lesson: Katarina = named after the parish who in their turn got their name from King Karl X Gustav’s mother in the 17th century, berg = mountain, berget = the mountain) and I have looked at it a number of times but today was the right day to try my luck and take a couple of shots of it.

I also took a couple of close ups of a house that once served as railway station for a commuter railway, but was sold to the church in 1938. The railway station had moved to its current location two years earlier and the railway company had no use for the house. The church moved out in 2008 and the house was sold earlier this year. It is an impressive building and I will explore it further with my camera when the weather is nicer.

 

4 responses

  1. Is the structure built around strange rock formations or am I seeing things?

    27/11/2010 at 04:32

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Yes it is. What you see is the upper parts of an old railway station.

    27/11/2010 at 14:03

  3. I really like the first photo with the stone and brick textures and the framing of the colorful wall behind. Intriguing!

    29/11/2010 at 15:28

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: Thanks a million! πŸ™‚

    30/11/2010 at 23:34

Leave a Reply

