My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Magic wood

Traditional Swedish fairy-tales often had deep, magic (or evil) woods stuffed with trolls, fairies etc. The illustrations were beautiful and of the kind that really could get the fantasy going. I decided to use “Magic wood” as a theme last Sunday and off I went for a walk about with the camera.

At this time of the year, daylight is scarce, but one must do one’s best. Besides, in my opinion dusk enhances the magic feeling – provided it’s there.

I found wonderful shapes and textures and did “The photographer’s dance” many times while trying to figure out the best angle to shoot from.

I spent many hours walking about and enjoyed every minute of it.

 

7 responses

  1. Sounds like it was a wonderful magic wood walk for you. These are wonderful captures. I especially like the first photo with the thick mossy tree roots exposed.

    24/11/2010 at 15:00

  2. I can see the little folk dancing.

    24/11/2010 at 18:09

  3. Staffan H

    Anna: Yes it was. Thank you! 🙂

    imac: I bet you can! 😉

    26/11/2010 at 00:39

  4. Interesting how your leaves are all gray 😉
    I too love walking in the woods looking at the strange structures trees can be. I once bought a book all about why this happens, but I have never read it, so it’s still all a mystery to me.

    27/11/2010 at 04:31

  5. Staffan H

    Lynn: Yes, it’s something strictly Swedish. 😉
    Please let me know when you have revealed all the secrets about the strange structures.

    27/11/2010 at 14:01

  6. These are beautiful photographs and quite magical indeed… I do believe there have to be fairies living there and I imagine they were entertained by the photographer dance. 😉

    13/12/2010 at 04:33

  7. Staffan H

    kcjewel: Thank you very much! 🙂

    16/12/2010 at 11:30

Leave a Reply

