My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The curse of birch trees

The birch is often used as some kind of poetic symbol for Sweden in summer and I’m also addicted to that imaginary description of my native country. A setting sun, birches and a lake – yep, that’s Sweden. The fact that you won’t find spots like that wherever you go is a thing I prefer to suppress.

There is, however, one problem with birches – they may rot from the inside when they are old and are thereby posing a danger to its surroundings. My neighbour had a couple of trees taken down and I liked the new open view I got from my bedroom window and when he asked if I wanted to get rid of two of my birches I felt that the sensible thing to do was to accept the offer.

The silence and tranquility was suddenly replaced by the noise from chainsaws and down came the birches. The first one had already began to rot and one can see it clearly on the picture above and can assure you that any doubt I had about doing the right thing or not was swept away instantly. Besides, my view from the kitchen window has improved considerably.

4 responses

  1. I do like birch trees. Very nice capture and I like the texture.

    08/11/2010 at 16:16

  2. Staffan H

    Anna: So do I and I am happy that I still have one left.

    08/11/2010 at 21:21

  3. I’m a big fan of birch trees, hope mine doesn’t rot from within.

    10/11/2010 at 17:12

  4. Staffan H

    Lynn: Let’s hope you don’t have that problem in the US.

    18/11/2010 at 23:20

Leave a Reply

