My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Using the camera as toy

That’s probably the appropriate way to describe the way I used the camera earlier today. It was already late afternoon when I suddenly felt like taking a couple of pictures. Late afternoon at this time of the year usually means that it’s getting dark and today’s cloudy weather didn’t provide much daylight.

A normal person would of course either wait until the next day or go and get the tripod. There are occasions when one can suspect that there is something wrong with me, because – pardon my language – I gave a damn and began shooting despite the gloomy light and long exposure time. As I already had broken a couple of rules, why not break another one while I’m at it? I paid no attention to composition and simply took a couple of shots from my balcony and here is the result.

The post processing only took a couple of minutes. I usually don’t spend much time post processing my photos, but there are, of course, photos that I do spend time behind the computer before I’m satisfied with the result. Anyhow, post processing is mostly a way to give the photo character and a personal touch.

Of course I must contradict myself immediately, because I also take photos that are carefully planned and I often make sketches before doing a portrait and make notes about light setting if it’s going to be taken in the studio or what kind of light/angle I would like if I’m it will be an outdoor shot. Then I “digest” my ideas and write everything down that eventually cross my mind during this process. This means that I have a fairly good idea of what kind of result I want in the end and it also means that I can easily cope with changes of location and other adjustments. This disciplined way of working is quite new to me; I began doing it earlier this year, but it has worked well so far.

What one can conclude from the above is that a human being’s imagination and dreams is never as far away as many often think it is and I can admit that I often seek inspiration and new ideas from it, but it also goes without saying that only a few ideas become real. It doesn’t matter as long as it means that I kick myself out of my comfort zone and try new things from time to time.

The fact that nothing of today’s photo session didn’t take much time made it possible for me to post the photos here the very same day. Ok, most of the photos I post here are “fresh from the camera” or at least next to it, but of course it happens that I work with them and think things over. Another annoying thing in this connection is that there are periods when I don’t have time to post as frequent as I want, but that is something I have to accept.

And that is all for today, folks.

 

6 responses

  1. imac

    Staffan, these are very Arty.
    Nice work.

    03/11/2010 at 19:04

  2. I would say your “i don’t give a damn” turned out damn good!! : )

    04/11/2010 at 00:12

  3. Oh, these are delightful! I like them all. Yeah for you breaking the rules, damnation. 🙂

    I like what you wrote: “I often make sketches before doing a portrait and make notes..”

    Indeed. Not only would I like to break the rules much more as I love blurs and abstracts, I would like to also take detailed notes and sketches of the different shots I take when in precision, so to speak. Do both… both ends of the spectrum. I enjoyed this post and photos. 🙂

    05/11/2010 at 16:02

  4. Staffan H

    imac: Thank you! In fact, I sometimes use your word “Arty” as some kind of mantra when I need inspiration and it usually works.

    kcjewel: Thank you very much!

    Anna: Thank you so much for your kind words. 🙂

    05/11/2010 at 23:34

  5. I see you have discovered the abstract magic of long exposures – they are fun and yours are very interesting and painterly.

    06/11/2010 at 03:18

  6. Staffan H

    Lynn: Yes – this was the first time I did it purposly and it was fun. Thank you! 🙂

    07/11/2010 at 23:36

Leave a Reply

