My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Sculptures

I have been looking at these granite sculptures for years now and yesterday I finally did something about it. I realised they are way too huge to try getting them all in one shot – unless I want to get other, less important things in the same picture and that was not what I had in mind so my decision was to aim at the most interesting parts and leave the rest.

These were shot during sunset which meant that I was losing daylight quickly. Autofocus and bad light is often a disastrous combination, but with a bit of luck one can get at least one out of fifteen in focus. In this particular case – and in my opinion – the fact that two out of three are slightly out of focus isn’t disturbing, because the basic shapes and textures are still visible. The tiny details that may distract the eye are blurred.

Besides, I am also of the opinion that one should leave a little to stimulate the viewers’ imagination. I was lucky enough to be born with a vivid imagination and that is something I’m very grateful for. Everything is ok as long as one is fully linked to reality and I haven’t lost that connection, yet…

 

2 responses

  1. Real cool photos Staffan, love the textures here.

    14/10/2010 at 23:19

  2. Staffan H

    imac: Thank you, I had fun while experimenting.

    17/10/2010 at 00:50

Leave a Reply

