My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Back to normal again

After a number of flower shots and memories from the past, it is about time to go back to the kind of photography I usually do and post here. The photo above is not from a prison; it is from a bridge between Mosebacke and the Katarina elevator. We lived only a few steps from there until I was three and the surroundings are still very special to me but hopefully not for sentimental reasons, because much has changed since then.

The cargo ships are gone and so are the cranes on the quays, the shunting yard and all the workers. Gone are the tugs – I knew their names – but much of the atmosphere is still there and the view over the city is still breathtaking. This is, however, about to change sooner or later and I am happy that I, for a change, have taken a number of pictures lately to “preserve” the memories and maybe also be able to provide a photo documentation for the future.

 

3 responses

  1. Indeed, about photo documentation. Great shot and I like the framing of the bridge and this in black and white.

    10/10/2010 at 02:40

  2. Wonderful posts of flowers and memories, you were a good looking lad my friend.

    Happy Sun – Day.

    10/10/2010 at 22:23

  3. Staffan H

    Anna: And even if my photos will disappear one day in a distant future, I’m still of the opinion that photo documentation of the changing city is important. Thank you – the conversion of that particular image to grayscale made it work.

    imag: Thank you very much. I never thought of myself as “good looking” back then, but I guess I kept up with the average fashion at the time.

    10/10/2010 at 23:22

Leave a Reply

