My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Going through things from the attic

When going through one of the cartons from the attic, this photo suddenly appeared. I take it that everybody can see that it is a dog on the photo, but not just “any dog” but the dog I grew up with.

I was nearly five years old when she came to our family and she was about six months old. Labrador retrievers are usually friendly and wild and she was no exception to the rule and I was terrified for a couple of days. After that, we remained best friends.

She was the perfect dog in a family with children and if my brother and/or I had done something mother was not too pleased with, the dog usually protested loudly when mom told us off. It also happened that she stood upright with her paws on mother’s shoulders while expressing her discontent and mother could not help laughing on these occasions. She was, in other words, a very protective dog and she was always very careful when playing with us. One day when I was thirteen she decided that I was old enough to be treated like an adult and she kept doing that for the rest of her life.

She was a member of our family for eleven years and on one sad day she was so ill that there was no point in keeping her alive and prolong the suffering. I was sixteen then but cried for about a week because home was not the same without her and I think every dog owner has experienced the same thing.

I could write a gigant blog post about all funny things that happened and all the fond memories of her, but I think I better stop here before I get carried away.

By the way, there is another interesting thing about this photo – it is probably one of the first prints I made and it is probably made in the school’s darkroom. It is scanned, of course, and just a tad darker than the original print but still a correct photo. It has remained intact through the years and believe it or not, there are days when I really feel like start using the darkroom again. Digital photography has many, many advantages but it would be foolish of me to deny that the prints made from black and white negatives on photographic paper  sometimes have a depth and a magic touch that a digital photo never can get. Naturally, I do not expect to come up with masterpieces but it would be fun to use the old process again.

4 responses

  1. Sitting here with my lab mix by my side, thinking how wonderful dogs are and how heartbreaking it is when they die. Great photo and story Staffan.

    09/10/2010 at 04:19

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Sincere thanks, Lynn. Dogs are wonderful indeed and having grown up with a dog is something I’m very grateful for.

    09/10/2010 at 23:51

  3. What a beautiful dog and a great photo! I really enjoyed your writing, Staffan, and very touching. Thank you for sharing this.

    10/10/2010 at 02:37

  4. Staffan H

    Thanks to you too, Anna. 🙂

    10/10/2010 at 23:10

Leave a Reply

