My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Exploring Vaxholm my very own way

Today’s trip went to Vaxholm outside Stockholm. The light was not suitable for street shots so I decided to take photos of houses instead. A traditional “get it all in one shot” is often subject to shortcomings, because a human being has two eyes – the camera has only one and the outcome of it is that the depth is often lost. My way of solving this problem is to scale the ambitions down. Interesting details are great subjects for example, or just pick out an interesting part of the building or the landscape panorama. The difference between light and shadow can be taken advantage of as substitute for the depth that the camera cannot see.

One of the problems in Vaxholm was that the houses were so well kept that it was difficult to see if the building was old and genuine or if it was a modern copy of an old house. I prefer “the real thing” if you know what I mean.

This house has to be genuine. Windows like that are not made any longer and there are probably only a handful of carpenters who know how to do it.

Ceramic goods for sale. It was late and the shop was closed but I will pay a visit next time. My home is crowded as it is, but there is always a place for beautiful things. Well, my wallet may be of a different opinion, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

I just loved this tower, but the building itself had strange proportions. The light conditions were tricky, but problems also mean opportunities so I decided to take the chance and no, I’m not competitive at all so I just won’t use the worn out word “challenge”.

This was my first visit to Vaxholm in years, but I have already decided that I will go back here soon and keep snooping around with the camera.

3 responses

  1. I’m glad that you are back posting on your blog more now and with your new car able to get out and about to photograph and share the lovely sights around you.

    24/06/2010 at 03:01

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Thank you. I’m glad to be back because I find that “job” very relaxing and, to make it short, good for me.

    25/06/2010 at 15:01

  3. I feel the same way about my ‘photo’ job.

    26/06/2010 at 03:52

Leave a Reply

