My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

HMS BELOS

The Swedish Navy’s HMS BELOS, a vessel designed for salvage of submarines, visited Stockholm the other day. A vessel at quay doesn’t provide the perfect opportunities for a photographer; I think a ship of her size should be photographed at sea (preferably from another boat) but in my case I think it’s best to take the chance when it appears and keep dreaming of the rest.

She was built in Holland in 1985, has been in service since 1992 and is originally designed for use near oil platforms. Maybe the Navy should take the chance to make some good money by chartering her to BP?

Finally, I have a confession to make: Once upon a time I worked as a clerk for an international shipping company and I prefer ships from the merchant navy since then.

7 responses

  1. I wont say, if you wont,lol.
    I think you captured this ship to its better side.

    28/05/2010 at 23:09

  2. A series of fine fotos. Did you desaturate or was it such a gray day with a gray ship?

    29/05/2010 at 04:55

  3. Staffan H

    imac: Deal and thank you! 😀

    Lynn: No, I didn’t have to desaturate this time; the gray clouds were just coming in over the city and I saw an opportunity to get a mood that would “support” the gray ship. Thank you!

    29/05/2010 at 10:33

  4. Great captures of this mighty ship and I especially like the first photo. Reminds me of the days of living in a ship port city and the various Navy aircraft carriers.

    29/05/2010 at 15:06

  5. Staffan H

    Anna: I bet the US Navy’s aircraft carriers are much larger than the BELOS – she can only carry a helicopter. Thank you for commenting.

    30/05/2010 at 00:33

  6. Makes one wonder why naval vessels aren’t involved with the huge oil disaster. They could carry huge cement pieces designed like legos and lower them to the ocean floor, one on top of the other, encasing the spill. Once the spill is encased they could cap and seal the spill with a hooded piece with a pipe leading to the ocean surface where they could pump into tankers. Just a layman’s idea but hey, worth a try.

    31/05/2010 at 13:16

  7. Staffan H

    Preston: Layman or not – the way things are now makes me believe that every suggestion is worth considering to stop the spill with regard to its negative effect on the environment and wild life. The responsibility may be BP’s (and they ought to be held liable for the damages), but the environment is everybody’s concern.

    02/06/2010 at 22:27

Leave a Reply

