My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

My new car

All right, here it comes – the blog post you have been waiting for; a couple of photos of my new car but first something to listen to while looking at the pictures (yes, I know I’m crazy but it doesn’t cost any extra).

It’s a Peugeot and the model is called 207 VTI with a 95 hp engine. The car is rather small but it’s a hatch back so stuffing more than my holiday luggage into it is no problem.

Until now I have always driven second hand cars and kept them “until the rust claimed them” so I hope I have learned a lesson by now. This car is steady on the road and I must say that the thing that sort of settled it was that it is so quiet in the compartment – even when driving on highways. Listen to music while driving is no problem and no noice from engine and road ringing in my ears for hours after a long drive.

I know it is standard on modern cars, but this is my first car with air condition and that is another thing I appreciate. Things are changing with time. I drove a Peugeot 305 in the late 80’s and that car had the typical French car features such as the ignition lock to the left of the steering wheel and the blinkers on the right side. It wasn’t any problem unless I drove just any other car than my own; God knows how many times I turned the wipers on instead of the blinkers on my parents’ car.

The old Peugeot also had “typical French seats” – it was just like sitting on a mushroom if it was a hot summer day and I used to bring a big towel to sit on to stay fairly fresh. Cold winter days gave the opposite experience. The “mushroom” had suddenly turned to stone. Only a couple of years later, French car manufacturers changed to international standard and they have stayed with that standard. Standard makes life a lot easier, but it also means that a little charm is lost. Anyhow, I have not regretted my choice of car and I don’t think I will either.

3 responses

  1. It’s a beauty, now you drive this until it falls apart – that will give you many years of quiet cool transport.

    17/05/2010 at 12:54

  2. Lucky chappie, eh.
    Nice one.

    18/05/2010 at 00:04

  3. Staffan H

    Lynn: Thank you! I have driven many cars until they fell apart and I’m not sure I want to repeat that experience with this one, but I do look forward to many years of joy with it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    imac: Yes I am. Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    18/05/2010 at 23:12

Leave a Reply

