My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Colourful stone walls

Stone walls are not as grey and dull as we think; all we have to do is to get close enough to see what’s growing on the stones and between them. In my opinion, they are also an impressive monument over the men who once built them. They were built to last and transporting all the stones to the site and make a wall of them must have been hard work.

I can admit that I let the computer help bring out all the colours in this photo but things didn’t go too far, so I decided to post it.

Slag from the blast furnace used to be a common construction material in its neighbourhood substituting brick in the past and was often used if the building didn’t have to look “posh”. Besides, it was a smart way of using something that is more or less useless.

All photos taken in Hjulsjö


3 responses

  1. I am forever fascinated with stone walls an grateful that I have one in my yard.

    11/04/2010 at 02:01

  2. You really captured the colors within these stones. The stones appear dry laid as they are in many fences here in Kansas.

    11/04/2010 at 21:14

  3. Staffan H

    Lynn: I agree with you, stone walls are fascinating and I’m glad that you have one in your yard.

    Preston: Thank you so much and yes, the stones are dry laid – that’s the traditional way of making a stone wall here too.

    15/04/2010 at 22:52

Leave a Reply

