My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A quick post

I’m quite busy right now, but a quick blog post won’t hurt and I got something to celebrate: My blog in Swedish is two years old now (the English version is a couple of months younger). Ok, I had a blog for over a year before this one, but I moved to WordPress two years ago and I haven’t regretted it yet. My blogs give me a lot of joy every day and I consider myself being lucky because my readers are simply the best one can wish for.

Moments like this call for something special so I decided to post a music video. The artist I chose is Eagle Eye Cherry performing his “Save Tonight”. He has his own style and a lot of integrity as a musician. The music industry may not appreciate this, but I like his music. Interested in photography as I am, I also know that Eagle Eye Cherry has been photographed by the great Dutch photographer Anton Corbijn and I think he gets extra credit because of that. 😉

7 responses

  1. Congrats on both of your blogs! It must be rather interesting to have both an English and Swedish Blog. I admire those who can converse and read in several languages…. their own native tongue and another.

    I really like the patterned black & white image… rather intriguing. The video wouldn’t play with a statement that it isn’t available in this country… I suppose it meant the USA? I haven’t heard of Eagle Eye Cherry.

    26/03/2010 at 01:00

  2. Your photo reminds me of some huge master playing with people as if they were on a chessboard.

    Congratulations on your blogs Staffan!

    For US viewers, try this link to the Eagle Eye Cherry song, great song btw http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEnxSvbsRQ8&NR=1

    27/03/2010 at 16:33

  3. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you so much! 😀

    Yes, it’s a true joy to have a Swedish and an English Blog. My ambition is not to become famous world wide, but it goes without saying that I can reach more people if I also blog in English; apart from Sweden, my native tongue is understood in Denmark and Norway only and among the Swedish speaking minority in Finland. I have not yet regretted that I began blogging and that day is not likely to come either.

    I must admit that I got surprised by the result myself – I thought twice (for a change) before I processed the photo above.

    Strange that they video wouldn’t play. I’ve never heard of any geographical limits on YouTube before so I deleted the first video and posted another instead but as I write these lines, I see that Lynn has found a video that will play in the USA. Strange, because Eagle Eye Cherry is half american (son of the jazz or world musician Don Cherry) and he also lived there for I think 14 years.

    Lynn: Thank you very much!

    The square is an example of design from the 60’s and as I said to Anna above, I had my doubts if processing it as it came out above was the right thing to do, so I got surprised when I saw the result.

    Also, thanks a million for finding a link that works to Eagle Eye Cherry’s “Save Tonight”. I think he is underrated as a musician, probably because I hear music and nothing but music from the first note to the last bar and not the too common “I want to sell at least a million copies of this song”. That’s what I call integrity! 😀

    28/03/2010 at 23:16

  4. The processing of your photograph is quite interesting… I like it. I had completely forgotten about this song so thank you for reminding me how great it is. Now, off to iTunes to buy it!! : )

    29/03/2010 at 03:03

  5. By the way, I clicked on the YouTube link provided by Lynn and watched/listened to Eagle Eye Cherry’s videos. I have heard and do know “Save Tonight” and I just love it! I thought, so that is who it is! Wonderful song and talented artist.

    31/03/2010 at 14:52

  6. The YouTube you have posted worked for me hitting the middle button. I remember hearing this song a while back.

    Congrats on your 2 year celebration 🙂

    01/04/2010 at 00:54

  7. Staffan H

    kcjewel: Thanks – I’m glad you liked it and I hope you found the song on iTunes! 🙂

    Anna: Good to know that Lynn’s link worked and I agree – he’s a very talented artist and, unfortunately, underrated. Thank you!

    Preston: Ok, you taught me a new trick today and you are right, “Save tonight” isn’t brand new but it doesn’t matter to me; good music is always good music.

    Thanks a million! 🙂

    01/04/2010 at 23:05

Leave a Reply

