My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A short walk

Saturday’s walk was a quick one as I spent some time shopping for a change – I had to buy a new watch. The old one showed signs of aging after over 31 years (aren’t they supposed to last longer?). Luckily, I found a shop where advertising half off and I hope I made a bargain.

Even if we are going in the right direction now, i e the days are growing longer and longer, daylight still disappears quick (with the speed of light?) so I didn’t get as many pictures as I wanted. Well, there are things to do at home too. I have spent many hours behind the computer trying to learn digital editing properly. It’s fun, nobody can deny that, but the method “this is how it’s done, step by step” hardly ever works on me – working on a “case” feels much better, even if I sometimes think back to the darkroom era.

Of course there are many things that are a lot easier to do the digital way than the darkroom way, but there are many traps too. It’s so easy to add a number of effects so learning when to stop is a must. A good image isn’t just a load of effects – it consists of balance, harmony and the artistic thought behind it; an easy thing to say but I wish reality could be that simple.

6 responses

  1. I’ve been using photoshop for ages, but have all but stopped using it. I’m a Luddite, preferring as is to too much tweaking. Should I decide to exhibit again, I will go back to ps to clone away bits of dust etc. Hey, Staffan, nice photos by the way.

    25/01/2010 at 04:04

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: I downloaded Gimp and am now trying my best to understand what I can do with it. I must admit that it is fun now when I’m getting a hold of it.

    Thank you! 🙂

    25/01/2010 at 16:45

  3. http://lenfirewood.wordpress.com/
    Len Firewood has done some interesting compilations using gimp and his camera phone.

    25/01/2010 at 16:48

  4. Never heard of Gimp.

    Both photos are gorgeous and I like the perspectives with both. The eye leading up and perhaps on our way to longer and warmer days?

    25/01/2010 at 21:32

  5. I’m baaaaakkkkk….. LOL

    Research what GIMP is, found it, and downloaded GIMP. I am very interested in the composite idea and some other features GIMP has. The link that Lynn provided for Len Firewood I clicked. Wow! Very interesting composite images. Well, you learn something new every day, so it seems. And now, to figure out how GIMP works.

    By the way, Staffan, I liked what you said: “…it consists of balance, harmony and the artistic thought behind it; an easy thing to say but I wish reality could be that simple.” Indeed.

    25/01/2010 at 21:56

  6. Staffan H

    Lynn: Thank you so much for the link. I clicked it and looked at the photos and they were, to say the least, amazing. To know when to stop editing is an art itself and he’s the grand master of it!

    Anna: Good friends are always welcome! 😆

    I have posted a couple of composite picture attempts here lately, mixed with photos where I erased everything except a few shapes I liked, but it feels like there is still way to go before I’ve got the method under my skin.

    I have, on the other hand, had loads of fun with GIMP lately and my only fear is that I will now gradually become a GIMP nerd.

    Thank you! 😀

    25/01/2010 at 22:53

Leave a Reply

