My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Stockholm in winter

I had lunch with a friend the other day and I had some things to do down town afterwards so I took a walk and came home with a couple of pictures – and a new battery for my watch. It has happened that I got so carried away by taking pictures that I forgot what I had set out to do and remembered it when it was too late.

This view has changed drastically since my childhood days and I can’t say that I like what I see here. I don’t mind new buildings but they must blend in with the surrounding architecture and these don’t.

Winter green disguised in white.

A couple of months remain before people will enjoy sitting here.

A couple of strange angles and shapes is enough to get me going and I couldn’t resist this temptation.

Old and new together…

Another view, another perspective.

3 responses

  1. The absence of people really give this frozen city an even colder effect. I really like the next to the last photo, has a real chilling feel about it.

    16/01/2010 at 11:49

  2. Wonderful views and perspectives. I especially like the first and last photos as in the first with the architecture and in the last the bridge sweeping over the icy water with the buildings in a perspective of meeting at a point. Winter definitely gives another perspective. Yes, change keeps on coming and sometimes not for the best in this so-called modern civilization.

    16/01/2010 at 16:35

  3. Staffan H

    Preston: Believe it or not, but there was people out on the streets, but most of them rushed to wherever they were going. It made me happy to learn that you liked that particular photo; I have tried that view a couple of times but there has always been something that made me disappointed about the result. This was the first acceptable shot I got from this view. Thank you!

    Anna: I’m glad you liked the photos and modern architecture can be quite dazzling in the right surroundings. There are a couple of modern buildings in the city that I really like. Thanks.

    16/01/2010 at 20:06

Leave a Reply

