My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Dancing bridge shapes

These images are not edited not just for the fun of harsh post processing – doing something drastic was a necessity in this case. I liked the shapes I saw in the bridges and took a couple of pictures of them. I captured the shapes but the surroundings ruined my photos. The thought of expecting to find something that is not surrounded by buildings in the city centre is mad, but it did not matter what angle I tried – all I got was the bridges and the, to say the least, cluttered surroundings that made the shapes my eye caught kind of disappear.

Anyhow, I had saved the image files and today I decided that the time had come for me to try my luck on these. It must have been my lucky day, because I also found a faster and better method to do this kind of post processing. The bare thought of having to use Gimp does not make me panic any longer and that is a good thing.

5 responses

  1. Staffan, these are a work of beautiful Art

    16/01/2010 at 21:49

  2. Staffan H

    imac: Thank you, my friend. 😀

    16/01/2010 at 22:05

  3. I like what you are doing with your high contrast work and I like your other work too, so please keep posting both kinds.

    17/01/2010 at 04:11

  4. I’ve sure enjoyed this new concept you are using. Never thought of doing this. Taking a photo of what you want and eliminating all noise you don’t want. Forces the viewer to see exactly what you wanted to portray.

    17/01/2010 at 15:54

  5. Staffan H

    Lynn: I promise I will post both kinds. Thank you for the encouragement.

    Preston: It was just a thought that popped up one day when I realized that I captured what I wanted but it got lost in the noise. Probably needless to say that it annoyed me, but it took months before I began experimenting with how to solve the problem. Thank you.

    18/01/2010 at 00:56

Leave a Reply

