My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A winter weekend

A friend of mine and I spent the weekend in my house in Kopparberg (230 km northwest of Stockholm). The drive through the snowy landscape was fantastic and we decided to take a walk as soon as we got there. It was probably not the smartest decision; the sun was setting and it didn’t take long before the temperature fell from -12 degrees C to -17. The last steps were painfully cold and it was nice to get into the cosy warm house.

I made a lamb casserole in tomato sauce for dinner with boiled rice and a salad. We shared a bottle of red wine and took plenty of time enjoying our dinner and the conversation. Vanilla ice cream with a spoon or two of my homemade red currant jam and I also poured a little “punsch” over it (strong, sweet liquor – there’s nothing like it abroad, so try it when you come to Sweden instead). The outdoor temperature was now -20, but it didn’t bother us. I lit a fire in the fireplace instead.

Sunday and time to go back to Stockholm again. The same trauma everytime. I don’t want to go, I don’t want to go, I don’t want to go but I have to. We left around noon, but since it was a sunny day and now around -12, we decided to drive into Kopparberg first and take a walk and have some coffee before leaving. At least I found something good about the winter. The church is usually hidden behind the trees but the invisible church was visible at this time of the year. I should have figured it out earlier…

Came back to Stockholm and the sounds of the city late on Sunday afternoon. I’m no lonely wolf but I enjoy staying there and listen to the sound of silence. At this time of the year I read a lot when I’m there. Sadly, the bookstore closed about a month ago. The owner wanted to retire and tried to sell the store, but nobody wanted to buy it so he finally decided to close it instead. I often went in to buy a book or two – it was on the way to the supermarket, so it was very convenient. I guess that’s the way life is on the country side these days.

4 responses

  1. Ahhh, snow can be beautiful. You have verified my recent theory that snow outside of the city can be pretty, whereas city snow is mainly a pain.

    I think the first photo is wonderful and the church photo is almost storybook in nature.

    Sounds like you had a grand time in the country.

    12/01/2010 at 03:31

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Glad I could help by verifying your theory and I agree with you.

    Yes I had, thank you.

    12/01/2010 at 11:38

  3. What a wonderful time out in the country and I enjoyed your writing. I bet after the wonderful meal and “punsch” over the ice cream, you felt very cozy indeed. Beautiful scenes captured, and I really, really like the church and village scenes. Beautiful. I agree with line, almost storybook in nature.

    12/01/2010 at 15:39

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: I’m glad you liked it. Thank you.

    12/01/2010 at 19:44

Leave a Reply

