My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Winter and cold

An unusual sight that had to be captured before it was too late. The water is (was when I write this) much warmer than the air and that is why it looks as if it was steaming. The temperature fell down to -16 degrees C later that day. Unfortunately, the heating system in the house I live in seems to be unable to cope with the changes and I currently have +16 in my flat which isn’t very comfortable (the recommended indoor temperature is 20 degrees C, 18 in the bedroom). I will have to call and complain tomorrow.

I decided that I would make an exception to the rule here and enhance both the colours and the wintry look.

View of Beckholmen from Skeppsbron. Last time I was there was a little over three months ago together with two blog friends. It was late September, but the temperature was just like a summer day.

4 responses

  1. The cold can make for some beautiful sites, that you captured well today. Until this year, I could handle cooler temps inside, but now I’m just cold. I hope you can get your heat fixed.

    07/01/2010 at 02:08

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: The beautiful sites are grand to look at from an indoor perspective. That particular walk about was an extremely short one because it was freezing cold and strong winds.

    Thank you!

    07/01/2010 at 23:23

  3. Beautiful captures and I especially like the first two! With the 2nd photo is looks like the city rising out of the sea. The compositions, depth and colors are spot on! By the way, even at 18 degrees, isn’t that a might bit chilly? We keep the temp between 20-22 degrees C (68-71 degrees F) at our home. We’ve had bitter cold and it is to get -8 degrees F with wind chill factor up to -30 F tonight. Good grief!

    08/01/2010 at 02:30

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: 18 degrees C is ok in a bedroom, but personally I prefer 20 degrees in the flat/house (depending on where I am). I called the company I rent from today and complained. The indoor temperature is 16½ – not very comfortable. Thank you!

    08/01/2010 at 10:47

Leave a Reply

