My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Quick walk about with the camera

I decided to take a walk with the camera today, but I didn’t take long before I headed back home again. It was -14 degrees C and windy, in other words not the perfect conditions for photography. A quick walk through The Old Town and then back home sounded like an acceptable compromise in my ears.

A couple of thoughts crossed my mind while walking in the cold weather. Creativity is marketed as something fantastic and there are a number of people who earn their living partly by giving lessons in how to release the creativity. I think we are all born with the gift so to say, but it has many different shapes and many faces. One person is good at football, anotherone is good at cooking, another one at sewing and one is a true master when it comes to interior design and so on.

There are, of course, different ways to develop ones creativity and there are also many ways to kill it. To keep a low profile, to be liked by everybody including the devil and his mother, how to behave according to the local traditions and standards and so on. Even if a person’s creativity is limited for natural reasons, there are still many ways to develop it within these “frames and rules”. Besides, creative work is often the same as hard work.

I strongly suspect that many of those who want us to experience the salvation of creativity often mix things up and in my opinion, “creative” should not be mixed up with “spectacular”. The more spectacular ideas the better seems to be what counts today. Too spectacular ideas/solutions may be offending but of course people will definitely notice these. My only question is: Will they always understand them?

Who will remember something that had the character of a spectacular prank five years from now? It will probably be forgotten by then, but a delicious meal, a fabulous painting (or a photo) will probably be remembered then. Both the creative and the spectacular way of doing it is the same as develop things and new ways of thinking. Still, I think the common creativity works better in the long run.

And this is where I stop for today. Enough of my attempts to become a deep thinker and I should probably find something else to do instead. 🙂

5 responses

  1. Those are great photos!

    06/01/2010 at 02:53

  2. I liked the tour of the old town and deep thoughts on creativity. I find that if I let busyness or the weather get in the way of my creativity, that I start getting out of sorts. I have been forcing myself to get out and ‘just do it’ and even a little bit makes me feel better, even if the results are nothing to admire.

    06/01/2010 at 04:38

  3. Staffan H

    lplathe: Hi and thanks for the comment and for stopping by.

    Lynn: Believe it or not, but I react in the same way as you do. Thank you.

    07/01/2010 at 00:42

  4. Thank you for the tour… you do live in a very beautiful place! The colors are exquisite.

    09/01/2010 at 01:07

  5. Staffan H

    kcjewel: Thanks for joining me on the tour!

    09/01/2010 at 01:40

Leave a Reply

