My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A frozen moment that is still valid

One way of looking at photography is preserving moments for the future. We capture something in less than a second that is something different the next second. There are, however, exceptions to the rule. I took this photo in July. There was a demonstration for democracy and human rights in Iran. I’m not particularly interested in politics, but when I saw the sculpture on Medborgarplatsen in Stockholm dressed up with the green ribbon, I couldn’t resist the temptation to snap the shutter.

The first thing was of course the humorous expression, but humour and seriousness go hand in hand to achieve balance and many serious things can be expressed and conveyed  when disguised to something that makes one laugh. I think I posted this photo in my Swedish blog the same or the next day, but yesterday I decided to edit it again (and do better this time).

I won’t waste your time with long and abstract explanations of how to look at the photo and how to understand it. What I have said above is enough and that’s what it should be like. I just hope is that they will get a new and better 2010. Enough said!

3 responses

  1. Interesting and funny alien type with the alien background.

    31/12/2009 at 22:39

  2. I’m not too deep a thinker so all I can say is the first glance I had at this photo I thought, “What the Heck.” The photo made me smile, then I read what your wrote and what the statue represented. I thought of struggle, frustration, and the process of ongoing life. Then I didn’t know what to do. So I looked at the photo again and thought for just a moment of time it made me smile. Life is like that. I also thought this is a wonderful photo and write up since it was able to provoke and draw emotion.

    Happy New Year to you Staffon. Can’t wait to see what this new year is going to bring.

    01/01/2010 at 14:58

  3. Staffan H

    Lynn: The alien type is a sculpture of a fool (or a jester) but he got a new dimension on that particular day and that’s probably why I alienated the photo. 😉

    Preston: Even if you aren’t “too deep a thinker” your conclusion is more than I hoped that any viewer would come to and your comment made me very happy. I wish you a Happy New Year too and I bet this year is full of interesting and exciting things.

    01/01/2010 at 17:14

Leave a Reply

