My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Black and White

As I mentioned before, I spent some time going through my photos and found a couple I though were worth a second chance. The picture above wasn’t particularly interesting, but I played a little with it and suddenly it was worth saving after all. It may not be a five star rated photo, but it isn’t necessary either.

This picture style is outdated, I know, but I don’t care. I just happen to like it. Saying that the photo was mediocre in colour is an understatement but when converted to black & white and with high contrast, something happened and I decided to save it.

The 1960’s are back again or…? I stood in a passage under a fountain when I took this photo. This part of the city centre was built in the 60’s and I think it justifies the imitation of photographic fashion at the time. Strange feeling, but it’s just like being back in my childhood days back then when I look at the picture.

4 responses

  1. I like your graphical b & w’s, keep playing around and I look forward to seeing more.

    26/12/2009 at 05:00

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Thank you. Will do when I find suitable subjects.

    26/12/2009 at 09:53

  3. Staffan,
    Beautifully done B&W images!
    Just goes to show, one never knows what hidden treasures remain in our archives.

    A happy, healthy and wealthy holiday and new year to you and yours.
    Louis

    26/12/2009 at 17:12

  4. Staffan H

    Studiophototrope: I must admit that these photos surprised me when I had finished the editing. Thank you for the encouragement. You are right and there are probably many treasures hidden here and there around the globe.

    I wish you and yours a Happy and prosperous New Year.

    Best,
    Staffan

    27/12/2009 at 02:17

Leave a Reply

