My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Logs

Allright, let’s get it out while we’re at it! I must admit that I’m a big fan of images with a graphic effect. Maybe it’s because I became interested in photography during the early 70’s when “photographic” was the latest fashion, maybe it’s just because I like it. This means that I will post photos of this kind now and then and – hopefully – I will also improve my technique little by little.

I cannot but admire the work of carpenters of the past. The only tool they used to make a wall like this one was an axe. Had it been build today, it would be machine sawn and without that wonderful texture. Today’s craftmanship is not as visible as yesterday’s, but it’s probably there, one way or another.

4 responses

  1. You definitely brought out the texture and character of the wood. I like shots like this. What do you mean by the graphic effect? I’m not sure what this is or I may know it by another term. I do love the work of old carpenters past.

    14/12/2009 at 15:09

  2. Its built with love, love of wood, love of their tools,
    love of their skills.

    14/12/2009 at 22:13

  3. I like the texture and high contrast of the beams.

    14/12/2009 at 22:58

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: “The graphic effect” is when the photo looks more like graphic art than a photo, i e black and white are dominant and there are hardly any gray tones due to the very high contrast. Referring to it as “making a graphic impression” would probably be more appropriate or what would you suggest?

    imac: You hit it!

    Lynn: Thank you.

    15/12/2009 at 03:52

Leave a Reply

