My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Keeping up my skills in Product Photography

Prod 1

Free advertising for a well known manufacturer of electric household appliances? Probably, even if it wasn’t my intention. I took a course in product photography about a year ago and I felt that some kind of brush up of my skills (if I ever was a skilled student) was needed, so I took a couple of photos just for the fun of it.

I asked myself “Why not try two different ideas while I’m at it?” and so I did and here’s the result. The best thing with photo sessions like this one is that I can do as I please – I have no customer expecting me to follow certain ideas or demands.

Prod 2

Prod 3

Prod 4

 

4 responses

  1. I like the second moody knobs shot, but I bet you a client would like that the least.

    17/11/2009 at 02:55

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: I have seen that kind of “moody shots” being used by some manufacturers when they want to express that “this is something extra”.

    17/11/2009 at 09:15

  3. Say! I like these! I haven’t thought about ‘product’ type of shots. Hmmm……. I’m with Lynn on the second mood knobs shot. It has a shadow depth. Very interesting! Inspires me to look a little closer at products and something I’d like to try in photography. You know, Staffan, you have an unique perspective and style to your photography in which I truly enjoy. 🙂 Also, I really like the header photo!

    17/11/2009 at 15:34

  4. Staffan H

    Anna: Thank you so much for all the compliments. I’m genuinely touched.

    To be honest, I myself am rather pleased with the two first shots in this series and you and Lynn are probably right.

    I’m glad if I have been able to give you inspiration to explore this field. It’s fun, but it sometimes takes a lot of patience too. Below are a couple of links to some previous posts of product photography. Click on them if you like.

    https://staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com/2009/01/30/like-a-cobra/

    https://staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com/2009/01/05/playing-with-food/

    https://staffanhussinenglish.wordpress.com/2008/12/30/the-tin-can-is-back-again/

    18/11/2009 at 00:18

Leave a Reply

