My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Exploring movement

Bräda 1

It is August and I got into my head that it was necessary for me to practice how to capture movement. Besides, one of my dreams is to get a good shot of something that has something to do with skateboards. I don’t know why and I can’t explain it, but I have some kind of image in my head. Whether that dream will come true or not remains to be seen. Nevertheless, I think dreaming is a necessity for a photographer – it makes us develop our talents and “the ultimate photograph” should, at least in my opinion, remain a dream.

Bräda 2

I found a couple of young men and their skateboards and felt that it was at least one step on the way forward towards the goal. They are far from perfect (not to mention the postprocessing) but there is something in them that I like. Besides, I don’t feel the need to post “perfect” photos all the time; there are also important lessons to learn from less than perfect. I would label them as “acceptable”.

Bräda 3

I often say that “Expression makes impression” – it has a different ring when said in Swedish – but the expression is important to me. It is often hidden somewhere, but I am content if it can be found somewhere in the photo. Maybe that justifies my posting of this photos?

I may sometimes sound like a deep thinker and… well I wish I was (or do I?), but I like to discuss topics like this with others who are interested in the art of photography, so what do you think about it?

Bräda 4

At least I learned a little about skateboarding and got a feeling of some kind of rythm that one must understand to be able to be one step ahead and know when the next opportunity comes without knowing for sure. Predictable and unpredictable at the same time. An interesting combination.

Bräda 5

Bräda 6

Bräda 7

Bräda 8

Bräda 9

I want to do more of it – next summer!

 

2 responses

  1. Great series

    05/11/2009 at 18:16

  2. Staffan H

    Thank you YesButs.

    05/11/2009 at 21:54

Leave a Reply

