My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The old Volvo

Duett 1

This model was a common sight on the roads when I was a kid. Time has made them a rare sight today and it was a joy to see this well kept old Volvo. I don’t know if the model was sold on export with a different model name, but it was sold as “Volvo Duett” here in Sweden.

Many of this car’s siblings had days full of hard work and even if they were built to last long, time and rust made their lives come to an end in the scrap yard.

Duett 2

I had never thought of its rather chubby look until now, but I should have known better. The front has the same design as Volvo PV 444 and 544 had (the first model Volvo sold on export if I am right). I tried to figure out why I hadn’t thought of this before and concluded that the answer is rather simple: I’m used to see them from a child’s perspective – not from an adult’s.

 

8 responses

  1. I remember the old Volvo’s, don’t know if it was the same model or year, but they were my dream cars back in the old days.

    30/10/2009 at 01:32

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: The Volvo Amazon – I think it was sold as Volvo 121 abroad – was the car of my childhood and the most elegant car I could think of (my grandmother had one). Tastes can change and I grew up, but I have had two Volvo 240’s.

    30/10/2009 at 01:50

  3. Back in the latter part of the 1960s and early to mid-1970s I saw many of those Volvos being driven by hippies in California.

    Unsure why they were so popular.

    Might have been their funky appearance that made me and others smile or perhaps they were inexpensive.

    Maybe the back seat provided ample room for coitus or perhaps there was room to allow sleeping within.

    26/01/2010 at 16:32

  4. Staffan H

    Obbop: There are many good things about blogging and one is that I learn new things every day. I didn’t know that these cars were popular among hippies, even if I don’t know how much they would cost if bought used back then. They were probably very cheap to own and repair. Besides, the B18 engine was a very good one. Thanks for stopping by and for commenting.

    PS: The model was in production between 1953 and 1969.

    27/01/2010 at 01:33

  5. David Shamlian

    I have owned a Volvo duett for 32 years. I had
    a frame up restoration done 20 years ago. The
    restorer thought I was nuts. It is a great car. I have some pics if anyone is interested.

    David Shamlian

    15/07/2010 at 20:23

  6. Staffan H

    David Shamlian: Hi and welcome to my blog. Thank you for telling us about your car and for stopping by.

    15/07/2010 at 22:50

  7. Pingback: The 1967 Volvo 210 story « Staffan's English Blog

  8. Incidentally, if you know anyone who’s got an original roofrack for a Duett, I’m looking for one for mine! Thanks,Geraint.

    24/07/2010 at 17:36

Leave a Reply

