My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The rule of thirds

Sbn 3

I have recently learned (better late than never) that one should divide the image in thirds in the viewfinder. One third for foreground, one third for main and the remaining third for the background and this view was, at least in my opinion, the perfect subject for this rule and I followed it accordingly for a change despite that fact that I usually do as I please.

Sbn 4

Just around the corned was another view waiting for me. The problem was that it wouldn’t make any good thirds so what did I do? I simply went back to my old, bad habits and that’s the way it’s going to be in future. Good boys won’t get any weird photos!

 

5 responses

  1. You know, I don’t pay attention to the rule of thirds most of the time. It is what I see and how I desire to frame it within the four corners. I worry more about what may distract from the image I am trying to capture. I tend to break the rules and go with what I like. 🙂 I really like the last photo.

    29/10/2009 at 00:47

  2. Advice – the rule of thirds like all rules is meant to be broken. I think you have been doing wonderfully with your photography on instinct or sense or whatever you want to call it, so keep that up and don’t worry about rules. They can get in the way of creativity.

    29/10/2009 at 01:40

  3. Staffan H

    Anna Surface: I have never paid attention to any photographic rule; I have followed my instinct since the 70’s and that’s what I will keep doing. Rules are recommendations for beginners and meant to be broken. 🙂

    Lynn: You are right – rules are meant to be broken and I promise I won’t let any rules get in the way of creativity. I heard about the rule of thirds for the first time in my life less than a year ago. If I have been able to take pictures for over 30 years without any knowledge of it, why become slave under it now? 🙂

    29/10/2009 at 08:06

  4. Its only a guide is thirds rule, I do and sometimes dont, its how you picture the photo in your minds eye that counts.

    29/10/2009 at 23:11

  5. Staffan H

    imac: Well spoken!

    29/10/2009 at 23:36

Leave a Reply

