My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Ships, a boat and the setting sun

Höst 1

I took my usual walk on my way home from work today and I am often accompanied by the camera. I have photographed the ship AF CHAPMAN (serving as hostel) a number of times, but she is often difficult to do justice if photographed in bright sunlight. The light from the setting sun works much better and I like the atmosphere it gives the picture.

Höst 2

The BIRKA PARADISE leaving the quay en route to Finland. It made a very quick turn thanks to its bowthruster (and it has one in the stern as well) but then it stopped for a couple of seconds, giving me time enough to take a picture of it. These modern ferries look like huge, seagoing monsters. Its auxiliary engines are probably doing their very best to produce all the electricity needed on board. It is, however, an impressing sight.

Höst 3

This little fellow won’t make any impression on most people, but I think it has some strange kind of charm, even if I can admit that I wouldn’t like a trip with it for the time being. It has an open deck and the weather here is chilly, but a trip in the summer would be nice.

2 responses

  1. Were these handheld shots or with a tripod?

    16/10/2009 at 01:43

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: I used a single leg tripod – a very convenient thing and easy to carry when walking about.

    16/10/2009 at 08:25

Leave a Reply

