My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Discovering Beckholmen – the final

Beck 37

Car ferry YXLAN in Gustav V’s drydock

Finally, I found that I had some pictures left that wouldn’t fit in to any of the previous categories and these were posted in the Swedish blog as the “final bang” when I had no other photos to post.

Beck 38

I found this boat in one of the other drydocks. I must admit that it took me a couple of minutes to figure out what it was when I looked at the photos at home. Finally, I concluded that it was most likely a stern and that strange object in the middle was probably a propeller (one blade is possibly missing). The photo itself isn’t first class quality, but unusual enough to qualify despite the fact that it’s slightly out of focus. There are days when I really hate autofocus. I never considered focusing “the oldfashioned way” as a problem.

Beck 39

Beckholmen isn’t just a load of drydocks, sheds and workshops. There are, believe it or not, also a couple of houses intended for living in. Mother Nature had done a good job fencing them in, but I fooled her by taking a picture of one of them “my way”. I’m not sure that Beckholmen is a place I would like to live in. Centuries of industrial activities has made it one of the most polluted places in Stockholm.

Beck 40

In spite of this, traces of old gardens can still be found and there are loads of lilacs there. I must go there in springtime and enjoy them.

Beck 41

The above is probably not what those who care about the environment are happy to see, but…

Beck 42

Sunshine and shadows

Beck 43

A couple of interesting reflections in the water

Beck 44

Beck 45

One of the other bloggers, my friend Mira, busy working with the camera. She blogs in Swedish but translation tools are available and her blog is loaded with beautiful images. Click here if you want to check her blog out (her photos from Beckholmen are filed under “september”).

2 responses

  1. Great water reflections. I like the strange boat shot, I can’t quite figure it out, but it is intriguing. And of course I like your abstract. I looked at your friend’s blog. Is that her Toller dog? One of my favorites, after my own mutt.

    16/10/2009 at 01:46

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: I also tried to figure out what was so special about that strange boat shot but I couldn’t come up with anything specific.

    My friend’s old dog died in July and she’s now thinking of buying a new one, but problems when it comes to make the decision whether to buy or not (so we all said something like “go for it”). One of these Toller dogs will hopefully get a home in her house soon.

    16/10/2009 at 08:32

Leave a Reply

