My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Sights that made an impression on me

Intryck 1

I’m currently doing my best to get this blog up to date and I have loads of files waiting to be posted and that’s why I switch from autumn to summer and then back to autumn again. On the other hand, does it really matter? Anyhow, these images are from August on one of my usual camera walks around the city.

Intryck 2

Intryck 3

Intryck 4

Intryck 5

Intryck 6

Intryck 7

Intryck 8

5 responses

  1. I like what looks to me as the distinctly Scandinavian colors and architectural lines, but I wonder how they would look in b&w.

    14/10/2009 at 03:34

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: The colors are easy to explain. The authorities decreed in the 18th century that house owners were only permitted to paint their houses in a couple of colors that would reflect the light – not absorb it – such as yellow and “bright pearl grey”. The streets of the old town are narrow, so it was probably a smart move. This gave the city a special kind of light and we can still understand what it may have looked like. Most houses in the old town are still painted in those colors.

    As regards the architecture. Well, the architecture during the 17th and 18th centuries (when these houses were built) was strongly influenced by France, Italy and Germany but of course a few Swedish elements were added and a special Swedish style did develop during the late 18th century, at least when it came to furniture and interior design.

    I think a couple of them would look great, possibly also improve, if converted to B & W.

    14/10/2009 at 07:24

  3. Very interesting about the mandated light reflecting colors, something that I didn’t give a thought to when I had my house painted. Most of the houses around here have shingles or siding. The few stucco houses are almost always white.

    15/10/2009 at 02:39

  4. PS I just realized that autumn leaves are of the light reflecting colors of your buildings.

    15/10/2009 at 13:59

  5. Staffan H

    Lynn: We don’t have to think in those terms nowdays because we have street lamps. The ones available at the time didn’t give much light. The first model used was often referred to as “Wolf eyes”. It obviously didn’t give much light.

    Interesting thought about the autumn leaves… 😉

    16/10/2009 at 01:15

Leave a Reply

