My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

Discovering Beckholmen – things and sights I saw

Beck 10

Beck 11

One of these lamps is probably functioning, but I leave it to you to guess which one

Beck 12

“Timeless elegance”. Signed “Cordially yours,”

Beck 13

A lamp from days gone by when the islet belonged to the Navy. It has probably not worked for decades but is still there to remind us of Beckholmen’s past.

Beck 14

The old (probably former) tug ALFRED in the drydock for repairs and painting

Beck 15

A little faded, worn and dirty but still working as intended

Beck 16

An old crane just across the Beckholmen strait. Yes, I know it’s on the Djurgården side and I know it’s kind of cheating but this is my blog and I can therefore do as I please!

Beck 17

You know, there are places where time seems to stand still and Beckholmen sometimes gave me the impression of being such a place, although I know it’s not true.

Beck 18

Don’t worry – more photos from Beckholmen will be posted here soon.

5 responses

  1. I see from today’s outing and more photos from Beckholmen that you too find visual delights in funky industrial spots too. Again, I would be hard pressed to pick one favorite, as I like so many of them so much.

    09/10/2009 at 03:13

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: Yes indeed – I find funky industrial spots irresistable. There is no need to pick one favorite as I consider series like this one as “a unit” where every photograph is telling its part of the story. Besides, my photos are not always perfect or beautiful; the main thing to me is that they express something. Naturally I have a couple of personal favorites among them, but that’s another story.

    09/10/2009 at 07:19

  3. Hi Staffan,
    I’m trying to figure out the correlation between water reflections and funky industrial, but I can’t. Can you?
    I post as series too, but sprinkled throughout the day.

    09/10/2009 at 14:12

  4. Staffan H

    Hi Lynn,

    I’ve been thinking and my conclusion is that there is no correlation between these subjects if seen as subjects only. They are as different as chalk to cheese. It is a matter of aestheticism and – also – a little thinking outside the box and that is where one will find the correlation.

    Water reflections often give us dreamy images loaded with beauty. Funky industrial may not be loaded with beauty, but even an image of the empty shell that once was a factory has a dreamy quality. The people who once worked here, what were their daydreams etc? Funky industrial are often displaying architecture, balance and proportions.

    Do you follow my way of thinking?

    09/10/2009 at 22:32

  5. Yes, dreamy, but also mysterious especially when taking just a piece to form an abstract. I think I’m mainly drawn to patterns, more than the actual subject. I must say though that I get the same boost of adrenalin when I discover a beautiful new setting in nature or discover a decrepit old factory.

    10/10/2009 at 03:20

Leave a Reply

