My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

A gigantic blob is spotted!

Superblobb 1

I took a walk through the city yesterday evening and suddently my eye caught something I had not seen before. It looked like a gigantic blob floating on the water. The blob was lit up too. What on earth…?!

Superblobb 2

Of course this was only too tempting so a closer look was a must and this is what it looked like when I got closer. Had a flying saucer landed down town or what? Well, no aliens were to be found, so it must be something else.

Superblobb 3

Holy Moses! It’s changing! Maybe it’s a foreign submarine? But a submarine – there? That canal is more like a gutter than a canal.

Superblobb 4

Ummm, this is strange! What’s going on here?

Superblobb 5

It has got a slightly different shape now and I finally found a poster in the dusk informing me that this is a light installation created by the artist Gunnar Söder and that it will be exhibited from September until December. The work is called “Iris” and the intention is to resemble the human eye. I believe the public is happy that the thought of becoming an art critic never crossed my mind.

4 responses

  1. I thought it was a glowing cd. Interesting art piece.

    09/10/2009 at 03:14

  2. Staffan H

    Lynn: I didn’t what to think when I first saw it, but it is an interesting and unusual art piece.

    09/10/2009 at 07:21

  3. I would have taken a closer look as well. Curiosity always gets the best of me. I’ve never seen anything like it, however it really doesn’t look that much like an eye to me other than being round.

    16/10/2009 at 03:32

  4. Staffan H

    Preston Surface: It didn’t look much like an eye to me either but taking that closer look at it was interesting and it did make an impression on me.

    16/10/2009 at 08:43

Leave a Reply

