My words, thoughts and photos from a Swedish perspective

The changing skyline

Stadsbilden

A new hotel is under construction behind the City Hall. I have taken a number of pictures of the City Hall through the years and I have also taken a couple of pictures of the ongoing construction work, but – believe it or not – this was the first time I shot from this place and this new perspective made me reflect over the change of the city skyline.

The City Hall has been a dominant part of Stockholm’s skyline for decades and I wonder whether the new hotel and the City Hall will match each other. Of course there are other dominant buildings in the city and I managed to get a couple of them in the image, but the keyword seems to be “respectful distance between them”. Still, I hope I am wrong and that these buildings will somehow complete each other.

Leave a Reply

